Default Approval Requirements by Division

The Default Approval Preferences by Division page allows administrators to set the default learning object approval preferences by division. The preferences set here apply to the Division of the user who is assigned the training. These preferences allow you to determine by learning object if the training is pre-approved and/or if the training is registered upon approval by default. For external training and Connect postings, you can set the default number of approvals required for each. These settings can be changed at the Learning Object level.

When determining the approval requirements for a learning object, the system first checks the User Record - Required Training Approvals field, then the Learning Object setting, and finally the Approval Requirement for the Training Type.

To manage default approval requirements, go to Admin > Tools > Learning > Learning Preferences > Preferences > Default Approval Requirements.

The preferences are divided into the following sections. Select the appropriate settings in each section:

Custom Relationships as Approvers

If custom relationships or miscellaneous users or groups are added as approvers in a custom approval workflow template, those users must have the Approve Training by Manager permission in order to access those pending approvals. This permission should be added to the corresponding custom relationship role, and approvers outside of a standard or custom relationship also need the permission via one of their security roles. The easiest overall solution to this is to add the Approve Training by Manager permission in the default user role. This has no impact if a user is not a designated approver or manager. Having this permission is necessary, however, if the user becomes part of a population of training approvers via a custom training approval workflow template.

Overwrite Settings

Choose whether to overwrite custom settings for child division OUs. If you choose to overwrite custom settings for child division OUs, the selected settings are applied to both new and existing child OUs. Any previously customized child OUs are updated with the selected settings.

If this option is unselected, then only the child OUs that do not have customized settings will be updated, as well as any OUs that are added in the future.

A child OU that has not been customized always inherits from the parent, regardless of whether this option is selected.

An OU is considered customized if its preferences or settings have been changed.

Save

Click Save to save the selected preferences.