Manage Custom Certificates
The Manage Certificates page enables administrators to
- Create and edit certificates using the advanced certificate editor.
- Copy, delete, print, or deactivate certificates.
- Associate certificates with an LO.
Note: You must click the Save button on the Manage Certificates page after creating, editing, copying, deleting, deactivating, or associating LOs with a certificate. If you do not click , no changes are saved.
Note: Once the user completes the training, the certificate is available on the Training Details page for the LO. Users can view and print the certificate from this page. Managers and administrators can also view and print the certificate when accessing the user's transcript.
To create a new custom certificate, click the Save on the Manage Certificates page; otherwise, the new certificate is not saved. See Create Custom Certificates.link. After creating a certificate, be sure to click
In the Custom Certificates table, all of the custom certificates are displayed for the OU or any parent OU. The Certificate Name and Date Created are displayed for each certificate.
Click the Certificate Name to preview the certificate.
A certificate can be deactivated by deselecting the Active option for the certificate. When a certificate is deactivated, the certificate does not appear to users who have completed that training course. This applies to users who have completed the training in the past and users that complete it in the future. After deactivating a certificate, be sure to click Save on the Manage Certificates page; otherwise, the certificate is not deactivated.
The following options are available in the Options column:
- Copy - Copy the certificate. This loads the advanced certificate editor with the identical certificate name and HTML. After copying a certificate, be sure to click Save on the Manage Certificates page; otherwise, the new certificate is not saved. When copying a certificate, be aware of the following:
- Only the certificate is copied, not the LO associations.
- The name of the certificate is copied to the new certificate. To avoid confusion, be sure to rename the new certificate before saving it.
- Edit - Edit the certificate. This opens the certificate editor where you can modify the HTML and certificate name. After editing a certificate, be sure to click Save on the Manage Certificates page; otherwise, the changes are not saved.
- View Details - View the LO associations for the certificate. This opens the Learning Object Associations page where you can associate LOs with the certificate. After editing the associations of a certificate, be sure to click Save on the Manage Certificates page; otherwise, the changes are not saved. See Manage Learning Object Associations.
- Delete - Delete the certificate. If a certificate is deleted, any LO associations are also deleted. After deleting a certificate, be sure to click Save on the Manage Certificates page; otherwise, the certificate is not deleted.
- Print - Print the certificate.
Choose whether to overwrite custom settings for child division OUs. If you choose to overwrite custom settings for child division OUs, the selected settings are applied to both new and existing child OUs. Any previously customized child OUs are updated with the selected settings.
If this option is unselected, then only the child OUs that do not have customized settings will be updated, as well as any OUs that are added in the future.
A child OU that has not been customized always inherits from the parent, regardless of whether this option is selected.
An OU is considered customized if its preferences or settings have been changed.
Save or Cancel
Click Save to save any changes made to the HTML of any certificate, LO associations of any certificate, or the Active status for any certificate.
Click Cancel to cancel any changes made to the HTML of any certificate, LO associations of any certificate, or the Active status for any certificate.