Edit Certification

When editing a certification, the process is similar to the process of creating a certification. After a certification is changed, some certification changes result in a new version of the certification.

After editing a certification, if a new version of the certification is created, you are taken to the Versioning page. See Certification Versioning Selection Page for additional information.

General

When editing a certification, all items on the General page can be edited.

Editing the following items does not create a new version of the certification:

  • Title - When a certification title is changed, the new title is applied to all versions of the certification.
  • Course Code - If course code functionality has been activated in your portal, course codes are automatically generated for certifications after they are created. If an administrator has permission to edit course codes, the Course Code field is editable when modifying a certification. If needed, click the Edit icon, make changes to the course code, then click the Save icon.
  • Description - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.
  • Family - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.
  • Category - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.
  • Language - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.
  • Owner - When a certification owner is changed, the new owners are applied to all versions of the certification.
  • Contact - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.
  • Prerequisites - Changes to this certification affect users only when they register for the certification.
  • Availability - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.

Editing the following item does create a new version of the certification:

  • Details - Most Details changes do not create a new version.
    • Users are required to complete the minimum credits - If this option is modified, this creates a new version of the certification because it alters the way the credits are calculated.

Framework

When editing a certification, all items on the Framework page can be edited.

The following actions create a new version of the certification:

  • Add New Training - This creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this section.
    • For users that are currently using or have previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
    • For users that are registered for the certification, but are not currently using or not previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
  • Remove Training - This creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this section.
    • For users that are currently using or have previously completed the affected section, this change is automatically applied.
    • For users that are registered for the certification, but are not currently using or not previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
  • Change Sequence of LO Within a Section - This creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this section.
    • For users that are currently using or have previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
    • For users that are registered for the certification, but are not currently using or not previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
  • Change Section Credit - This creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this section.
    • For users that are currently using or have previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
    • For users that are registered for the certification, but are not currently using or not previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
  • Change LO Credit - This creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this section.
    • For users that are currently using or have previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
    • For users that are registered for the certification, but are not currently using or not previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
  • Add New Section - If a child section is added, then this creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this section. If a parent section is added, this does not create a new version.
    • For users that are currently using or have previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
    • For users that are registered for the certification, but are not currently using or not previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
  • Delete Section - This creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this section.
    • For users that are currently using or have previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
    • For users that are registered for the certification, but are not currently using or not previously completed the affected section, you have the option to move them to the new version or allow them to remain on the old version.
  • Change Validity Period - If an administrator makes any changes to the validity period of a certification, a new version of the certification is triggered. The administrator will be directed to the Versioning page to complete the creation of the new certification version.

The following actions do not create a new version of the certification:

  • Change Display Order Within a Section - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.

Scheduling

When editing a certification, on the Scheduling page, the Period Type and Period Dates cannot be edited. In addition, periods cannot be added or deleted.

The following actions create a new version of the certification:

  • Change Period Require Credits - This creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this period. Users in the old version retain the old value, while users in the new version receive the new value.
  • Change Applicable Settings - This creates a new version if users are currently using or have previously completed this period. Users in the old version retain the old value, while users in the new version receive the new value.

The following actions do not create a new version of the certification:

  • Change Period Title - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.
  • Change Details - Changes are automatically applied to all users when it is saved.
  • Change Applicable Sections - Users currently using the certification retain the old settings.

Emails

When editing a certification, no modifications on the Emails page cause a new version.

  • Changes to emails only affect non-queued emails.
  • If the content of a queued email is modified, the changes are applied to all emails.

Confirm

When editing a certification, no modifications on the Confirm page cause a new version.