Cohort - Create/Edit - Step 5 - Cohort Details

When creating a program, the Cohort Details step enables the administrator set the registration criteria and additional details for the cohort.

To create a cohort, go to Admin > Tools > Learning > Catalog Management > Programs and Cohorts. Then, click the View Cohorts icon in the Options column for the appropriate program. Then, click the Create New Cohort link.

The cohort details are pre-populated with the cohort defaults that were set for the program, but can be edited if necessary.

Registration

The following settings are available in the Registration section:

  • Registration Deadline - Enter number of hours, days, weeks, or months before or after the cohort start date when registration ends. Note: Users may not register for a cohort after the registration deadline, but administrators can proxy enroll users into a cohort after this date has passed.
  • Minimum Registration - Enter minimum number of registered users.
  • Maximum Registration - Enter maximum number of registered users. If this is set to zero, then users cannot register for the cohort.

Advanced Criteria

The following settings are available in the Advanced Criteria section:

  • Instructors - Click the Add Instructors link to add instructors for the cohort. A cohort's instructors serve as the community experts for the cohort's community. More than one instructor can be selected. If an instructor is added, and later that instructor becomes inactive, the instructor's name will still propagate to existing and new cohorts. The administrator must remove the inactive instructor from the Instructors list. The constraints on the administrator's permission to view instructors determine which instructors the administrator can view and select.

Additional Requirements

The following settings are available in the Additional Requirements section:

  • Request Form - Select a request form from the drop-down if applicable. The user will be able to complete this form at the time they request the session.
  • Required Training Approvals - Enter the number of approvals that are required in order for a user to register for the LO. Leaving this blank will default to the number of Required Training Approvals set in the User Record. Setting Required Training Approvals at the LO level overrides the required training approvals in the User Records, unless the required approvals on the User Record is set to zero.
  • Required Completion Approvals - Enter the number of approvals that are required in order for a user to receive completion approval for the LO. If left blank, the LO will follow the normal workflow for LO completion. If a value is entered (number greater than 0) the LO will require Completion Approval for all users who complete the training using the normal approval workflow process. Note: This setting is only available to users with permission to manage LO completion approvals.

Save, Back, or Cancel

Click Save to save and create the cohort and return to the Manage Cohorts page. When a cohort is created, a cohort community is simultaneously created for the cohort within Connect. The cohort community has the same title as the cohort. All users on the cohort's roster are automatically members of the cohort community. The cohort instructors are designated as experts for the cohort community, and the cohort owners are designated as moderators for the cohort community. Note: If course code functionality has been activated in your portal, a course code is automatically generated for the LO immediately after the administrator saves the new LO.

Click Cancel to discard any unsaved changes and return to the Manage Cohorts page. See Manage Cohorts.

Click Back to return to the Community step. See Cohort - Create/Edit - Step 4 - Community.

Editing Considerations

The following occurs when instructors are added or removed after the cohort has started:

  • When an instructor is removed, the removed instructor can no longer view the Instructor tab within the cohort. Also, the removed instructor is no longer an Expert for the community and its topics.
  • When an instructor is added, the added instructor can view the Instructor tab within the cohort. Also, the added instructor is added as an Expert for the community and its topics.

When the Required Training Approvals or Required Completion Approvals are edited after the cohort is saved, the updated approval requirements are only applied in the following manner:

  • The updated Required Training Approvals are only applied to users who do not yet have the cohort on their transcript.
  • The updated Required Completion Approvals are only applied to users who have not yet completed the cohort.