Curriculum - Edit

Administrators can edit or reversion curricula for users in a Registered or In Progress status, and also for future users of that curriculum. If the structure of the curriculum is modified and there are users registered for that curriculum, then the modified curriculum is saved as a new version so that the two versions can be tracked separately.

If a user is updated to a new version of a curriculum, an email may be triggered if enabled by an administrator in Email Administration.

Note: The processing time that is required for the system to process the curriculum changes and to display the newest version as the current version may vary. The version that is listed first is the version that any users who request this curriculum or any manager or administrator who assigns will be requesting or assigning. Before assigning a new version of a curriculum to a user, verify that reversion process is complete.

To access Curricula Administration, go to Admin > Tools > Learning > Catalog Management > Curricula. Next to the curriculum you want to edit, click the Edit icon.

Structure Changes Which Cause New Version

The following components of the Curriculum Structure if edited WILL cause the curriculum to create a new version:

  • Adding or removing an object, Training, Note, Form, or Section
    • Adding Training that Has a Price - When adding training that has a price associated with it, causing a new version of the curriculum, registered users must pay for the additional training if the following are true for the curriculum:
      • The Incremental Pricing option is checked on the Pricing step and the Pay Upfront option is checked for the training on the Structure step.
      • The Incremental Pricing option is checked on the Pricing step and the Pay Upfront option is not checked for the training on the Structure step.

      Registered users do not pay for additional training if the Curriculum Price option is checked on the Pricing step and the Pay Upfront option is checked for the training on the Structure step. Note: The Pay Upfront option is always checked for training when the Curriculum Price option is selected.

  • Changing the Sequence
  • Moving an item to a new section

Note: A new version of a curriculum is triggered when these types of changes are made ONLY IF the curriculum has already been assigned to one or more users.

Structure Changes Which Do NOT Cause New Version

The following components of the Curriculum Structure if edited WILL NOT cause the curriculum to create a new version:

  • Editing Title
  • Editing Instructions
  • Editing Pay Upfront settings
  • Editing Pre-Approval settings
  • Editing Max Attempts for a test
  • Editing Due Dates
  • Editing Auto-Register settings
  • Editing Auto-Launch settings
  • Editing a Note
  • Editing Recurrence
  • Changing the Display order

If there are no users registered for this version of the curriculum, the administrator can decide whether or not to create a new version. If there are users registered for the curriculum, then a new version must be created. In this case, the Update Current Option button does not appear.

Note: Each version of a curriculum retains its original title and owner information, even when new versions of the curriculum are created.

Reversion Options

After saving changes which trigger a new version of the curriculum, you are navigated to the Reversion Options page.

Enter the following information:

  1. Version - Select which previous versions of this curriculum will be replaced by the new curriculum using the Version drop-down menu.
  2. Status - Choose which curriculum statuses can be replaced by the new version. For example, you can decide that all users with the old version of the curriculum in a Not Started status on their transcript will automatically receive the new curriculum version. If none of the boxes are selected, then only users who register after the changes have been made get the new version of the curriculum.
    • Not Started - Select this option to only upgrade users with the status of Registered for another version of this curriculum.
    • In Progress - Select this option to upgrade users with the status In Progress for another version of this curriculum.
    • Complete - Select this option to upgrade users with the status Completed for another version of this curriculum.
  3. Assign To: - Choose additional options to determine which users receive the new curriculum.
    • Users with Previous Version(s) on Transcript - Users with an old version of the curriculum on their transcript will receive the new version, if the status requirements set above are also met.
    • Users Assigned by Dynamic Learning Assignment - Users who were assigned an old version of the curriculum via dynamic learning assignment will receive the new version, if the status requirements set above are also met.
    • Define by OU - Users who meet organizational unit criteria you select will receive the new curriculum version, if the status requirements set above are also met.
  1. Click the Next button.

Enter the following information:

  1. Effective Date - Enter a date that this curriculum is effective or choose Immediately.
    • Immediately - If this option is selected, the new version is implemented immediately after saving the curriculum. However, the time required for the system to process the changes varies.
    • Set Date - If this option is selected, the new version is implemented shortly after 12:00 AM on the selected date. The effective date cannot be in the past. The Effective Date may be modified as long as the date has not yet passed.
  2. Apply Changes to - Choose to whom the changes are applied on the effective date. If neither of the boxes is selected, then only users who register after the changes have been made get the new version of the curriculum.
    • Users Not Started - Select this option to only upgrade users with the status of Registered for another version of this curriculum.
    • Users In Progress - Select this option to upgrade users with the status In Progress for another version of this curriculum.
  3. Comment - Enter any comments to explain the changes that being implemented in the new version. This helps others to distinguish the differences between versions. The comments may also explain why the changes were made.
  4. Click Save.

Note: The processing time that is required for the system to process the curriculum changes and to display the newest version as the current version may vary. The version that is listed first is the version that any users who request this curriculum or any manager or administrator who assigns will be requesting or assigning. Before assigning a new version of a curriculum to a user, verify that reversion process is complete.

See Curriculum - View Versions.

Modification History

The Modification History table appears at the bottom of the page displaying when the curriculum was created and also every time the curriculum was modified. When a new version is created, the administrator is required to enter comments describing what was changed. These comments appear in the modification history table.

Transcript History Impact

Any courses that are removed from a curriculum no longer appear on the transcript details page for that curriculum. If a user had already registered for, started, or completed a course that was removed from the old curriculum, then that course appears on that user's main transcript page.

Related Email Triggers

Curriculum Curriculum Curriculum Curriculum Curriculum Curriculum Curriculum Curriculum Curriculum

Reversion Reversion Reversion Reversion Reversion Reversion Reversion Reversion Reversion