Administrator Topic

User Preferences - Termination Reason - Add/Edit

Termination reasons enable organizations to track the reasons why employees are terminated, including whether the employee left the organization voluntarily or involuntarily. Termination reasons are pre-defined with default names and categories so that specific functionality can be associated with termination reasons within the system. Although the system uses pre-defined termination reasons, administrators can configure the termination reason names to match their organization's terminology.

To access the User Preferences page, go to Admin > Tools > Core Functions > Core Preferences > User Preferences.

  • To create a new termination reason, click the Add button in the Termination Reasons section. This opens the Add Termination Reason pop-up.
  • To edit a termination reason, select Edit from the Options drop-down menu.

Enter the following information for the termination reason:

  • Termination Reason - Enter the termination reason name, up to 100 characters. This should clearly describe the general reason associated with termination. This is required. If multiple languages are enabled for your portal, select the Translate icon to translate the field into other available languages.
  • Termination Type - Select whether the termination reason is voluntary or involuntary. If the termination reason has been associated with a user, then this field can no longer be modified. This selection determines which options are available in the Termination Reason Category field.
    • Voluntary indicates that the employee chose to leave their position.
    • Involuntary indicates that the organization forced the employee to leave their position.
  • Termination Reason Category - From the drop-down, select the general reason associated with the new termination reason. The Termination Type selection determines which options are available. For example, if Voluntary is selected, then only Voluntary termination reason categories are available. Only a default termination reason can be selected. For example, organizations may create multiple types of negligence termination reasons, and these termination reasons should be associated with the Negligence termination reason category. If the termination reason has been associated with a user, then this field can no longer be modified.
  • Active - When a termination reason is active, it can be selected when creating or editing a user. If a termination reason is deactivated, the termination reason continues to be associated with the user. However, inactive termination reasons cannot be selected when creating or editing a user.

Save or Cancel

Click Save to save the termination reason and return to the User Preferences page. Or, click Cancel to discard any unsaved changes.

 

Last Published: 9/10/2021 If you have feedback or suggestions for an Online Help article, please select this link. © 2021, Cornerstone OnDemand