Session Roster - Add Users to a Session

On the Session Roster, instructors and administrators may be able to add users to the session roster. When an instructor or administrator clicks the Add Users link on the Session Roster page, the instructor or administrator is directed to a Select Users pop-up that allows them to select the users to be added to the session roster. This avoids having to complete the learning assignment process. In addition, the instructor or administrator is able to know immediately if a user is added to the session roster.

To access the ILT session roster, go to ILT > Manage Events & Sessions. Search for the appropriate event and next to the event in the search results, in the Options column, click the View Sessions icon . This option is only available to users with permission to view sessions. Next to the appropriate session, in the Options column, click the View Roster icon .

To add users to the session, click the Add Users link.

When an instructor or administrator clicks the Add Users link, this opens the Select User pop-up, in which the instructor or administrator can search for and select multiple users to be added to the session roster. Users who are already registered for the session or are pending registration cannot be selected from the pop-up. Note: This option is only available to instructors or administrators with permission to add users to a roster. In addition, the constraints on this permission determine which users can be viewed and selected.

Add Pending Users to Roster

The selected users have not yet been enrolled in the session, and they are displayed in a table above the enrolled users. This enables the administrator or instructor to view all of the users who have not yet been added to the session.

Emails can be configured for a session when the session is created. By default, any configured registration and assignment emails are triggered when the users are added to the session. To disable any emails that may be sent when the users are added to the session, uncheck the Send emails option. This option must be unchecked before the Add Pending Users to Roster button is clicked. Disabling emails may be useful when adding users who attended the session but were not on the roster. In this scenario, the user does not need to be alerted that they were added to the roster.

  • When users are added to a completed session and the roster is submitted, if the users are in a Completed status, then only the Training is Completed email is sent, if configured.
  • When users are added to an approved session, only the ILT Session Register email is sent, if configured.

To enroll the pending users in the session, click the Add Pending Users to Roster button. Up to the first 10 users in the Pending Users table are added to the roster when the button is clicked.

When pending users are added to the roster, the system checks the number of available seats for the session. This includes the session's maximum registration and any reservations and restrictions. If the maximum registration or restrictions are exceeded, then the options that are available to the instructor or administrator may vary. This button is only available to users who have permission to add pending users to the roster. See the Insufficient Seats Scenarios section below for additional information.

When a user is added to the roster, the following occurs:

  • Session is immediately assigned to the users.
  • The session has no due date.
  • Any prerequisites and pre-work associated with the session are bypassed.

  • The user is assigned, approved, and registered. If payment is required, then the user is in Approved status until payment is received. If the session has ended, then users are automatically assigned a status of Completed.
  • Session emails are queued unless they are disabled.

If a user is added to the roster, but the enrollment fails, then the user will be removed from the Pending Users table and the Denied status will be reflected in the user's Transcript.

If multiple sessions are selected, the Add Pending Users to Roster button is not available, and the instructor must first select a locator number from the drop-down at the top of the Roster page.

Pending Users Table

The Pending Users table displays all users who have been selected to be added to the roster but have not yet been added. If a user is successfully added to the roster, then they are removed from this table. Similarly, if a user's registration is denied, then they are removed from this table.

The following information is displayed for each user who is pending enrollment:

  • Name
  • User ID
  • Locator - This displays the session locator number, which is important if there are child sessions.
  • Organizational Unit(s)
  • Status

To remove a pending user, click the Remove icon to the right of the appropriate user in the Pending Users table.

Note: If the roster is submitted or if the session is cancelled, then all pending users are removed from the session.

Insufficient Seats Scenarios

When adding users to a roster and there are insufficient seats, which options are available depends on whether the waitlist is enabled for the session and whether the administrator has permission to increase the number of session seats.