Using the Register User and Launch Training Deep Link

When users click the Register User and Launch Training deep link, the functionality of the link depends on the approval workflow for the learning object (LO), the status of the LO, the status of the LO if the LO is currently in the user's transcript, the type of user, the type of LO, and the configuration of the deep link.

When users click the Register User and Launch Training deep link, the following occurs by LO type:

User Is Redirected to Homepage

When users click the Register User and Launch Training deep link, users are redirected to the portal's homepage in the following instances:

  • If the deep link is configured with an expiration date and the link is expired when the user click the link, then the user is redirected to the homepage.
  • If a self-registered user clicks the deep link, the self-registered user is redirected to the homepage for the self-registration group.
  • If the deep link is for a session and the session’s registration has closed or the session has ended/expired, then when the user clicks the deep link, the user is redirected to the homepage.

General Considerations

Availability Settings

The Register User and Launch Training deep link respects availability settings. If the user had an LO on their transcript before LO availability was revoked for the user, then the LO remains on the user’s transcript. But, the LO’s transcript status does not change nor does the LO launch option when the user clicks the deep link associated with the LO.

Events

If an event is emailed instead of a session, the event is added to the user's transcript with an Approved status and not a Registered status. There is not an option to launch, since the LO is an event.

Inactive LOs

If a user has an LO on their transcript, and the status is Inactive, clicking a deep link for the LO does not change the status of the LO on the user’s transcript. The LO does not launch. When the user clicks the deep link, they are redirected to their transcript.

If the user has not previously had the LO on their transcript and the LO is not available to the user, then when the user clicks the deep link, the LO is not added to the user's transcript. The user is not registered for the LO, and the LO does not launch. The user is redirected to the portal's homepage.

LO Requires Pre-Work

If the LO requires pre-work and the user clicks the Register User and Launch Training deep link, the user is registered into the LO and the LO is added to the user's transcript.

Materials

  • If the material has a URL, then when the user clicks the deep link, the user is registered into the training and the URL launches.
  • If the material has an attachment, then when the user clicks the deep link, the user is registered into the training and the attachment launches.
  • If the material has neither a URL nor an attachment, then when the user clicks the deep link, the user is taken to their transcript.

Price Associated with Training

  • If the training has a price associated with it and the cost center does not pay the entire cost of the training, then when the user clicks the Register User and Launch Training deep link, the LO is added to the user's transcript in an Approved status. The user is redirected to their transcript, where a register option will be available. Upon clicking the Register link, the user is directed to the payment step of the Shopping Cart checkout process to purchase the training.
  • If the training has a price associated with it and the cost center does pays the entire cost of the training, then when the user clicks the Register User and Launch Training deep link, the user is registered into the LO, the LO is added to the user's transcript, and the LO launches.

Versioning

Learning Object Scenario
Curricula

The version of the curriculum that the user sees is controlled by the settings the administrator chooses when reversioning.

  • Users not Started - If the Users not Started option is selected, then users who have not started the curriculum will have the latest version of the curriculum when they click the deep link. If the Users not Started option is not selected, then users who have not started the curriculum do not get the latest version of the curriculum.
  • Users in Progress - If the Users in Progress option is selected, then users who are in progress in the curriculum will have the latest version of the curriculum. If the Users in Progress option is not selected, then users who are in progress in the curriculum do not get the latest version of the curriculum.
  • Completed Curriculum - If the user has completed the curriculum, the user does not get the latest version of the curriculum.
Library When a library is edited (e.g., a new LO is added to the library), then the change is automatically pushed out to all users who already have the library on their transcripts. This is existing functionality. There is no impact to the auto-launch deep link because the user is always directed to the latest version of the library.
Test or Curriculum not Previously on Transcript If the user did not have any previous version of a curriculum or a test on their transcript, then when the user clicks the deep link, the latest version (of either the test or curriculum) is added to their transcript.
Test If a new version of a test is created because the test was edited after users had begun the test, then the next time a user launches a test, the latest version of the test will open.

Deep Link Deep Link Deep Link Deeplink Deeplink Deeplink Deep Link Deep Link Deep Link Deeplink Deeplink Deeplink Deep Link Deep Link Deep Link Deeplink Deeplink Deeplink