Curriculum - Create - Step 1 - General - Prerequisites

The Prerequisites section on the General tab enables administrators to set prerequisites for the curriculum, and the defined prerequisites must be completed by the user before they are able to register for the curriculum. The status of the curriculum will be Pending Prerequisite until the user completes the prerequisites. It is not required that a curriculum have prerequisites.

To create a curriculum, go to Admin > Tools > Learning > Catalog Management > Curricula. Then, click the Create a New Curriculum link.

Add New Option

Prerequisite options are the options that a user has in order to satisfy the prerequisite requirement for the LO. All of the LOs within an option must be completed in order to satisfy the option.

  • If the LO only has one option, then that option must be completed by the user before the user is able to register for the LO.
  • If the LO has multiple options, then the user is only required to complete one of the options before the user is able to register for the LO.

Click the Add New Option link to add a new prerequisite option for the LO. This opens the Select Training pop-up in which the administrator can select the LOs that belong in the option. Multiple LOs can be selected. The selected LOs appear in alphabetical order within the new option in the Prerequisites table. Note: The same LO can be added to multiple options if the LO is a requirement for multiple options.

The following information is displayed for each item in the Prerequisites table:

  • Name - This displays the name of the option or LO within the option. Options are automatically numbered in the order in which they appear in the table (e.g., Option 1, Option 2). When an option is deleted, the remaining option names are updated to reflect the new option order.
  • Type - This displays the LO type for each LO in the option.

A maximum of 10 prerequisite options can be defined for a LO. Once 10 options have been added, the Add New Option link is no longer available until an option is deleted.

A maximum of 50 LOs can be added to an option. Once 50 LOs have been added, the Add Training icon is no longer available until a LO is deleted from the option.

Delete Option

To delete a prerequisite option, click the Delete icon in the Options column for the appropriate option. This also removes all of the LOs within the option. Options are automatically numbered in the order in which they appear in the table (e.g., Option 1, Option 2). When an option is deleted, the remaining option names are updated to reflect the new option order.

Add LO to Existing Option

To add an additional LO to an existing prerequisite option, click the Add Training icon in the Options column for the appropriate option. This opens the Select Training pop-up in which the administrator can select the additional LOs that belong in the option. Multiple LOs can be selected. The selected LOs appear in alphabetical order within the option in the Prerequisites table.

A maximum of 50 LOs can be added to an option. Once 50 LOs have been added, the Add Training icon is no longer available until a LO is deleted from the option.

Delete LO within Existing Option

To remove a LO from an existing prerequisite option, click the Delete icon in the Options column for the appropriate LO. If all LOs are deleted from an option, the option is also deleted after the changes are saved.