When you are finished creating your plan, click to send your development plan to the appropriate approving user and the plan status is Pending Approval. If approval is not required, the plan is automatically approved.
If you are creating a plan, but are not ready to submit, click. This saves the plan in Draft status and you may continue editing it in the future prior to submission.
Once a plan is approved, its status changes to "In Progress."