Cornerstone Mobile App (Legacy) - Download Curriculum Courses

Users can download courses within a curriculum to be completed offline as long as the course is configured to be completed offline. This is configured by the administrator in the Course Catalog.

When a user accesses a curriculum from a mobile device, the user has the option to download any courses when all of the following are true:

  • The mobile device is connected to the Internet
  • The course is configured to be completed offline.
  • The user is able to launch the course within the curriculum online, meaning that there are no prerequisites or required sequencing in the curriculum structure. For example, if Course Y requires the completion of Course X in order to be launched, then Course Y can only be downloaded once Course X is completed.

Once the course is downloaded to the mobile device, the mobile application saves a copy of the course to a local folder on the device. While the course is downloaded, all course progress is saved to the local version of the course. This means that the user can access the curriculum and launch the course, even when the device is not connected to the Internet or in semi-connected mode (when the connection is poor and intermittent). While the course is downloaded, the course is also locked on other devices so that the user does not overwrite any offline progress. Syncing progress while online ensures that the course's progress is updated across all devices. However, in order to unlock the course on other devices, the user must first delete the course from their device.

When a user makes progress on a course while offline, the user can sync their progress with the system once they are connected to the Internet. Launching the course again from the mobile device while online also syncs the progress with the system.

Once the course is downloaded to the mobile device, the user has the option to Delete the course files from the mobile device. This option is available when online or offline. If the device is shared with other users, then deleting the course deletes the course for the user. However, the course files remain on the device until all users who have downloaded the course delete the course.