New Online Course Version Available - Notifications

If desktop notifications are enabled in your portal, users can opt to allow desktop notifications from the system to display, when available. Regardless of whether or not desktop notifications are enabled, a Javascript notification will always appear to users in the online course window if they are assigned a new version of the training while they are viewing the course. See Notifications Preferences.

Allow or Block Notifications

After notifications have been enabled in the portal, the first time the user accesses either the Welcome page or their Transcript page in the portal, they receive a pop-up requesting permission to display notifications. The pop-up reads, "Cornerstone wants to show notifications." The user can choose from the following options:

  • Allow - If the user clicks the Allow button, they will see any available desktop notifications from the system. For example, if a new course version becomes available while they are currently viewing the course, the user will receive a desktop notification that a new course version is available.
  • Block - If the user clicks the Block button, the will not see any available desktop notifications from the system. The user will not be shown the pop-up again. If they later wish to enable these notifications, they can do so via their browser settings.

The user can close out of the pop-up without selecting either option by clicking the X icon in the upper-right corner of the pop-up.

Course Updated Notification

When a user has opted to allow notifications, if a new online course version is assigned to them while they are viewing the online course, a desktop notification appears. The notification alerts the user that a new version of the training is available and provides the user with a link that redirects them to the page from which they launched the course so they can access the new version.

If desktop notifications are NOT enabled, a Javascript notification appears in the upper-right corner of the online course window, which alerts the user that a new version of training is available and provides the user with a link to the page from which they launched the course. This notification appears regardless of whether or not the user opted to allow desktop notifications. This Javascript notification cannot be disabled or configured.

Note: If the user continues to complete the older version of the online course, they will NOT receive completion credit for the course. On their transcript, only the progress they made on the course prior to receiving the new version notification is saved.

New Version Available

When the user is redirected to the page from which they launched the online course, a notification displays, informing the user that a new version of the online course is available. The notification also instructs them to launch the new version that was assigned to them. To close the notification, the user can click the OK button.