User Topic

Live Feed - Post an Update

Users are able to post an update to their Live Feed. Updates can include file attachments and video attachments. Users can also determine who can see each update. The option to post an update is controlled by the system administrator.

To post an update, go to Connect > Live Feed. In the Update field, enter a text update. When you click within the Update field, the Update panel expands to show the visibility drop-down and Post and Cancel options.

Attach a File

To attach a file to your update, click the Attach File button to the right of the Update field. The option to post an update is controlled by the system administrator. See Live Feed - Attach a File.

Include URL Preview

When posting an update to the Live Feed, you can include a URL with the post. See Live Feed - Include URL Preview.

Determine Update Visibility

To determine who can see your update, select the appropriate option from the visibility drop-down list. The visibility applies to your update as well as any comments that are added to your update by others. Note: The visibility drop-down list is only available once you place your cursor in the Update field to expand the Update panel. The following options may be available:

  • Your Connections - Select this option to make the update visible to only your connections.
  • Team - If you are a member of one or more teams, each team appears in the drop-down list in alphabetical order after the Your connections option. Select a team to make the update visible to only the members of the selected team. This update is also displayed on the Team Feed for that team.
  • Your direct and indirect reports - Select this option to make the update visible to all of your direct and indirect reports, regardless of whether they are connected.
  • Broadcast - Select this option to make the update visible to all users who view the Live Feed. This includes all users within the organization except self-registered users. Broadcast updates are displayed at the top of the Live Feed between the filter drop-down list and the other user updates. Only one broadcast update is displayed at a time. This option is only available to users with permission to broadcast an update.

Post or Cancel

After entering the appropriate text, attaching any necessary files, and setting the update visibility, click Post to post the update, or click Cancel to discard the update. If enabled, the Connect Team Feed User Update email is triggered when a member of a Connect team posts a user update to the Team Feed.

 

Last Published: 9/10/2021   © 2021, Cornerstone OnDemand