The Publish tab is added to the Report Designer page. This tab allows you to publish a custom chart to dashboards.
See the Add Published Widget to Dashboard topic in Online Help for information about adding the widget to a dashboard.
Best Practice for Adding Charts to Published Reports: When you add a chart to a report that you would like to publish, the act of adding a chart will change the way the data is displayed in the report. Adding a chart summarizes the data in the report. Therefore, if you do not want the report to be summarized but want to add a chart and publish it, then it is a best practice to copy the report. This way, you can have a version of the report that is not published (and not summarized) and a version that is published.
Pre-Steps for Publishing a Chart
In order to publish a chart, the chart must first be created on the Chart tab. In addition, in order to share the published widget with other users, you must first add at least one user on the Sharing tab, up to a maximum of 20 users. Note: If you include organizational units (OU) on the Sharing tab, then the report cannot be scheduled.
Publish as Widget
This option allows you to publish the chart to dashboards. The option is unchecked by default. Checking the box to enables the chart to be available for dashboards.
This option is only enabled when the Publish as widget box is checked. This field allows you to provide a description for the widget, up to 200 characters. When sharing the widget with other users, a description can help users know what information has been configured for the chart.
Share Widget with Users
Note: This option is only enabled after at least one user has been added to the Sharing tab (up to a maximum of 20 users).
This option is unchecked by default. Checking the box will share the widget with the users selected on the Sharing tab. Once the report is saved, the shared users will be able to add the widget to their dashboards. A widget can only be shared with specific users, and the checkbox will not be clickable if shared with an OU.
If you haven’t shared the Custom Report with other users through the Sharing tab, the Share widget with users icon will be un-clickable. Once at least one user is added under the Sharing tab, the checkbox will be clickable.
You are not required to share the report and widget with other users if you plan on sharing a Dashboard with a user. The benefits of sharing a report and also the published widget is that any scheduled refresh will apply.
Sharing and scheduling still follow the existing limitation – a report (and thus widget) cannot be scheduled to refresh if it has been shared with more than 20 users. If you want to share a widget or dashboard with more than 20 users, you can share the report without a schedule, or you can share a dashboard you’ve created with the published widget.
Shared Widget Access
For shared users, they must have permission to view shared dashboards, as well as permission to view the specific custom report type from which the widget was published.
The scheduled refresh applies to shared widgets.
Edit Custom Report
When editing the custom report, the options on the Publish tab are editable by the report creator. Shared users cannot edit the report.
Deleting Custom Charts in a Report
When editing a custom report, if the chart for a custom report is deleted in the report, then the widget is also deleted from the Published Widgets category for dashboards and any dashboard containing that widget. The widget is deleted for both the report creator and shared users.
Deleting Custom Report that Includes Published Widget
If a custom report that includes a published widget is deleted, then the widget is also deleted from the Published Widgets category for dashboards and any dashboard containing that widget. The widget is deleted for both the report creator and shared users.
Copy Custom Report
When copying the custom report, the settings on the Publish tab are not copied.
Copy Custom Dashboard
Custom dashboards cannot be copied.