If the Password Reset Option in Password Preferences is set to Reset By Email Notification, then the Forget Password email is triggered when a user clicks the Forgot Password? link on the Login page. This email can be sent to External User or Internal User. If the user clicks the Forgot Password? link multiple times and a password reset URL is included in the email, then a new URL is generated for each email and the previous URL is no longer valid.
This email must be configured for administrators to select the "Send Password Reset Email to user's email address" option when resetting a user's password on the Admin - Users page.
The PASSWORD.RESET.URL email tag is a link that opens a page on which the user can create a password. If this email is sent multiple times to the same recipient, then this URL is regenerated each time and the previous URL is no longer valid. Also, the password reset URL is only valid for 48 hours. If the user does not reset their password within the 48-hour validity period, then the user must click the Forgot Password? link again to get a new password reset URL.
The availability settings do not apply to external users when External User is added as a recipient in the Send To field.
When Internal User is added to the Send To field, the availability settings defined in the Availability field apply to internal users based on the organizational unit (OU) to which they belong. The following rules apply by OU:
||Cost Center if user is part of the Cost Center
||Custom group if user is part of the Custom Group
||Division user belongs to
||Grade user belongs to
||Location user belongs to
||Position user belongs to
||Self-Registration group if user is part of the group
||User if user is added individually