Content Launching Preferences

Content Launching Preferences define how online course content launches on a user's desktop. These preferences allow administrators to delineate the data encryption associated with the course launch and how the system is to react to plug-ins, such as Shockwave. In addition, administrators can configure a disclaimer to appear when training is launched.

To access Content Launching Preferences, go to Admin > Tools > Learning > Learning Preferences > Content Launching Preferences.

The Content Launching Preferences page is divided into the following sections:

  • Compatibility Mode
  • Content Launching Preferences
  • Launch Message

Compatibility Mode

The Internet browser compatibility mode for an online course determines which compatibility mode, if any, is applied when the online course is launched.

From the drop-down menu, select the default compatibility mode for newly uploaded courses. The selected option is set for newly uploaded courses. Administrators can choose to modify the compatibility mode in either Course Publisher or Course Catalog. Note: This setting only affects newly uploaded online courses. Also, this option only affects users using Internet Explorer; users using other browsers (e.g., Chrome, Firefox) are unaffected.

The following options are available:

  • None
  • IE7 Compatibility - This option is selected by default.
  • IE8 Compatibility
  • IE9 Compatibility
  • IE10 Compatibility

This setting is only available when configuring Content Launching Preferences at the top division level. When configuring Content Launching Preferences for a division other than the top division level, the Compatibility Mode setting is not available.

Content Launching Preferences

The following options are available in the Content Launching Preferences section:

  • Launch content in - Select how content is launched.
    • Full Window - When this option is selected, content is launched in a full browser window based on the user's screen resolution.
    • 800 x 600 Window - When this option is selected, content is launched in a browser window that is 800 pixels by 600 pixels.
  • Use SSL - SSL stands for Secure Sockets Layer and is a protocol that provides secure communications on the Internet for data transfers. Selecting this option enables content that supports SSL to send information securely over the Internet. Note: When creating a SCORM 2004 course, this option must be selected in order for the content to load and function properly.
  • Allow user to download plug-ins - A plug-in is a computer program that interacts with your Web browser to provide a very specific function. Flash player and Shockwave are typical examples plug-ins. Selecting this option enables users to load plug-ins to play their course.
  • Detect Shockwave automatically - If this option is selected, then when the user launches the training, the system automatically checks to see if the Shockwave plug-in is needed. If the user does not have the plug-in, they are prompted to download the plug-in.
  • Launch additional instances in a new window - This option enables administrators to define how multiple instances of the same course are launched. When checked, new instances of the same course launch in a new window. When this option is unchecked and a user launches a new instance of the same course, the course reloads within the window in which the course is currently open.

Launch Message

The following options are available in the Launch Message section:

  • Disable disclaimer - Selecting this option disables the launch message.
  • Disclaimer first time message - Selecting this option displays the disclaimer message one time prior to the course start.
  • Disclaimer everytime message - Selecting this option displays the disclaimer message each time prior to the course start.
  • Disclaimer Message - Enter a message in the field. The field is HTML friendly, and the character limit is 2000.

Overwrite Settings

Choose whether to overwrite custom settings for child division OUs. If you choose to overwrite custom settings for child division OUs, the selected settings are applied to both new and existing child OUs. Any previously customized child OUs are updated with the selected settings.

If this option is unselected, then only the child OUs that do not have customized settings will be updated, as well as any OUs that are added in the future.

A child OU that has not been customized always inherits from the parent, regardless of whether this option is selected.

An OU is considered customized if its preferences or settings have been changed.

Submit

Once all preferences are set, click Submit.