The Data Merge tool enables administrators to merge user training records when multiple accounts exist in the system for the same person. This is useful when a user has multiple accounts and has completed training in each account. The Data Merge tool will merge the training from both accounts. The Data Merge tool does not merge training items if they already exist on the recipient account; this includes equivalencies, other versions of the training, and if the training is used in a certification. See Data Merge - Merge User Accounts.
The Data Merge functionality is available within Configuration Tools and can also be added to Navigation Tabs and Links.
- Donor Account - This is the account from which the training records are being transferred.
- Recipient Account - This is the account to which the training records are being transferred.
A user accidentally creates three new accounts for themselves on three different days. The user has completed training in each account, so it is not appropriate to delete any of the accounts. Instead, the administrator decides to merge the accounts in order to consolidate the user's training. The administrator merges the second account into the first and deactivates the second account. The administrator then merges the third account into the first and deactivates the third account.
This functionality is controlled by a backend setting.
The following permissions apply to this functionality:
|Training Data Merge - View
|Grants ability to view past training record merges. The availability of this permission is controlled by a backend setting. This permission can be constrained by OU, User's OU, User Self and Subordinates, and Users. Which records are displayed in the History section is dependent on creator constraints. This is an administrator permission.