Essential Transcript Data Deletion provides organizations the ability to automatically delete User Transcript Data based on a defined retention period for inactive users in accordance with various regulations, such the EU GDPR and the Right to be Forgotten policy.
Important: To enable this enhancement, contact Global Customer Support.
Once enabled, administrators can activate this feature by going to. In the Feature Activation section, for the Activate Learning Transcript Deletion Mechanism for Compliance area, click the button. The following applies once activated:
- Data deletion respects the retention rule set at the Legal Entity Organizational Unit (OU) which users are part of at the time of the deletion.
- Automatic deletion applies to the transcript of inactive users who are terminated.
The following Essential Transcript Data is deleted:
Time-based Data Deletion
The following applies to time-based data deletion:
- Time-based deletion occurs automatically after a certain period. The execution itself is triggered on daily basis for Inactive User’s Learning Transcript Data based on the User’s termination date.
- The user must belong to a Legal Entity OU and must be inactive. Users should be assigned to the Legal Entity before their termination date.
- Data is erased permanently from the database and cannot be recovered. Data is also removed from the Reports.
- Customers must enable User data anonymization/ deletion prior to Time based activation for Transcript for each Legal Entity OU.
- Before opting-in for this process Customers must request via GCS one-time historical data cleanup for previously anonymized/ deleted users if they already use User anonymization/ deletion mechanism in their portal.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Q: Do we need to perform a copy down to stage before enabling the feature for testing?
A: Yes, it’s a best practice to perform copy down to stage before enabling the new feature in the stage portal for testing on the most updated data available in the Production portal.
Q: Will Transcript Deletion preserve statistics?
A: No, deletion does not preserve statistics.
Q: Will Transcript Data related to xAPI be deleted?
Q: Do we need to enable User Data anonymization/ deletion before Transcript?
A: Yes, it is mandatory to enable User Data anonymization/ deletion configuration with Legal Entity OUs/ settings/ retention period before opting for the time-based Transcript Data Deletion.
Q: Do we need to perform historical transcript data deletion for previously anonymized users prior to time-based transcript data activation?
A: Yes, it is mandatory to perform this one-time activity to avoid load on the system for first time enablement.
Q: Is it possible to restore data that has been deleted through the transcript data deletion functionality?
A: No, the purpose of deletion is that the data is gone, and Customers nor Cornerstone longer process or possess a person’s transcript data. Be very careful and diligent when choosing retention periods, and to do proper UAT before deploying in production.
Q: What is the process for Customer to opt for automated time-based transcript data deletion?
A: First, the Customer must activate user data anonymization/ deletion mechanism, if already leveraging. Next, request historical data cleanup for previously anonymized users via GCS case/ work order. Finally, request the enablement of the feature activation preference visibility on the UI in the same case to toggle the preference for time-based.
Q: What will happen to the User Transcript and other screens post the data is deleted?
A: User's will have an empty transcript with data deleted from active, completed, archived and removed tabs as well as relevant reports and system areas like Session Roster Page, Curriculum Administration > View Users, etc.
Q: What happens if a person (by error) belongs to multiple Legal Entity OUs at the same time?
A: Transcript data generated during an overlapped Legal Entity window will have both Legal Entity tags associated and will be deleted based on the shortest retention period
Q: What happens if there is API Integration in place for Transcript Data?
A: API only returns transcript data for active users.
This functionality is off by default. Contact Global Customer Support to enable.