When the Append option is NOT enabled for a versioned online course, only one version of the online course can be in a Published status in the portal, and the new version replaces the previous version on selected users' transcripts when the effective date is reached.
When an online course is versioned WITHOUT the Append option enabled, the new version exhibits the following behaviors:
- Only one version of the online course can be on a user's transcript.
- The Effective Date is either immediate or in the future.
The Start Date and End Date only apply when the online course is appended. They do not apply when the course is replaced.
Note: After choosing to either append or replace a version of an online course, any subsequent versionings default to the same versioning option originally chosen (Append or Replace).
David is an administrator responsible for all management training at ACME Inc. On August 15, 2017, David receives a call from the Legal Manager informing him that a new anti-harassment policy is available for the State of California, and it is immediately applicable. All managers working in California should be assigned the new online course version of the policy, and the previous version is obsolete.
David creates a new version of the Anti-Harassment Policy using the online course versioning functionality. He does not enable the Append option because he wants only the new version of the course to be available on users' transcripts. David adds an Effective Date of August 15, 2017 for the new policy. He assigns the new version to all managers in California at ACME Inc. The previous version of the Anti-Harassment Policy class is deactivated when the new version is created.
Sam is working in California as a manager at ACME Inc. Before August 15, 2017, Sam can access the previous version of the Anti-Harassment Policy. On August 15, 2017, Sam can only access the new version of the Anti-Harassment Policy. The previous version is automatically made inactive on his transcript.