Material Reversioning Behaviors (Simplified Versioning)

The system behaves in the following manners when a material is reversioned:

Material Versioning Considerations

When a new version of a material is created, the following considerations apply:

  • When a training purpose is associated with the previous material version, the training purpose IS included with users' new version of the training on their transcripts, and the training purpose is also attached to the new version of the training in the Course Catalog.

  • The pricing from the previous version is NOT automatically copied to the new version. Administrators must configure pricing for the new version in Course Catalog.
  • The training equivalencies are NOT automatically copied to the new version. Administrators must configure training equivalencies for the new version in Course Catalog. Note: This behavior is different from Replace Versioning, where existing training equivalencies are automatically copied to the new version.
  • Any certifications or development plans that contain a previous version of the material are NOT impacted.
  • Any prerequisites, pre-work, or post work associated with the original material ARE automatically copied to the new version.
  • If a material is a prerequisite, pre-work, or post work for another LO, then the new version is automatically set as the prerequisite, pre-work, or post work for the LO.
  • If a material is included within the structure of a cohort, then the cohort structure is not impacted by the new version of the material. That is, the old version of the material remains associated with the cohort.
    • Approval Workflow
    • Badges
    • Competencies
    • Custom OU pricing
    • Enable Default Completion Message
    • Exclude from Recommendations
    • Is Mobile? checkbox
    • Points
    • Recommended courses
    • Recurrence
    • Signature Message
    • Skills
    • Thumbnail image
    • Training Units

RegNum Behavior

  • If the user has completed the previous version and the new version replaces the previous version, then the new version is added to the user's transcript and the RegNum is increased. The status of the new version is dependent on the LO settings in Course Catalog.
  • If the user has completed the previous version and the new version appends the previous version, then the new version is added to the user's transcript and the RegNum is 1.
  • If the user has registered for and not completed the previous version and the new version replaces the previous version, then the new version is added to the user's transcript and the RegNum is not changed. The status of the new version is Registered.
  • If the user has registered for and not completed the previous version and the new version appends the previous version, then the new version is added to the user's transcript and the RegNum is 1.

Reversioned Material within Curriculum

If a user is selected and they have the material in a curriculum on their transcript, then the user automatically receives the new version of the curriculum.

Important: To maintain compliance, administrators must have the permission for material versioning (either the replace permission or the version with append permission) AND the permission for curriculum versioning. If an administrator creates a new version of a child material or child online course but does NOT have permission to version curricula, the curriculum will not be updated and version updates cannot be maintained.

  • The effective date of the new curriculum version is set to the effective date of the new material version.
  • The comments for the new curriculum version are the same as the new material version.
  • The user's curriculum progress is maintained.
  • Important: Impacted curricula are only reversioned if the administrator has permission to manage curricula versions. Also, the new curriculum version is only assigned to users if the curriculum is within the constraints of the administrator's permission to manage curricula versions.

Material Approval Workflow

When a material is reversioned, the initial and completion approval settings are copied from the old version to the new version. If a user has received initial approval for the old version of the material, then approval is not required for the new version of the material. If the old version of the material requires completion approval, then the new version also requires completion approval.

Only standard approval workflows are copied from the old version to the new version. Custom approval workflows are not copied to the new version.

Material Pricing

When a new version of a material is created, the pricing from the previous version is not automatically copied to the new version. Administrators must configure pricing for the new version in Course Catalog.

When a material is reversioned and the material is within a curriculum, the following pricing rules apply:

  • The Pay Upfront option is selected for the material - Payment is bypassed for the material and the curriculum.
  • The Pay Upfront option is not selected for the material - Payment is due for the new version of the material when the user activates the material within the curriculum.