Course Catalog - Prerequisites

The Prerequisites tab enables administrators to set prerequisites for the LO, and the defined prerequisites must be completed by the user before they are able to register for the LO. The status of the training will be Pending Prerequisite until the user completes the prerequisites. It is not required that a LO have prerequisites.

Note: This tab is not available for library or program LOs.

To access the Course Catalog, go to Admin > Tools > Learning > Catalog Management > Course Catalog.

When editing a course in Course Catalog for the first time, no prerequisites are defined for the LO.

Add New Option

Prerequisite options are the options that a user can complete to satisfy the prerequisite requirement for training item. All of the training items within an option must be completed in order to satisfy the option.

  • If the training only has one option, that option must be completed by the user before the user is able to register for the training.
  • If the training has multiple options, the user is only required to complete one of the options before they can register for the training.

Click the Add New Option link to add a new prerequisite option. This opens the Select Training pop-up in which the administrator can select the training items that belong in the option. Multiple items can be selected. The selected training appears in alphabetical order within the new option in the Prerequisites table. Note: The same training item can be added to multiple options if it is a requirement for multiple options.

The following information displays for each item in the Prerequisites table:

  • Name - This displays the name of the option or training within the option. Options are automatically numbered in the order in which they appear in the table (e.g., Option 1, Option 2). When an option is deleted, the remaining option names are updated to reflect the new option order.
  • Type - This displays the training type for each item in the option.

A maximum of 10 prerequisite options can be defined. Once 10 options have been added, the Add New Option link is no longer available until an option is deleted.

A maximum of 50 training items can be added to an option. Once 50 items have been added, the Add Training icon is no longer available until a training item is deleted from the option.

Delete Option

To delete a prerequisite option, click the Delete icon in the Options column for the appropriate option. This also removes all the training items within the option. Options are automatically numbered in the order in which they appear in the table (e.g., Option 1, Option 2). When an option is deleted, the remaining option names are updated to reflect the new option order.

Add LO to Existing Option

To add an additional training item to an existing prerequisite option, click the Add Training icon in the Options column for the appropriate option. This opens the Select Training pop-up in which the administrator can select the additional training items that belong in the option. Multiple training items can be selected. The selected training appears in alphabetical order within the option in the Prerequisites table.

A maximum of 50 training items can be added to an option. Once 50 items have been added, the Add Training icon is no longer available until a training item is deleted from the option.

Delete LO within Existing Option

To remove a training item from an existing prerequisite option, click the Delete icon in the Options column for the item. If all items are deleted from an option, the option is also deleted after the changes are saved.

Save or Cancel

Click Save to save any unsaved changes that have been made throughout the Course Catalog. Or, click Cancel to discard any unsaved changes that have been made throughout the Course Catalog. Both options return the administrator to the Course Catalog main page.