Many reports are scheduled to run daily with no delivery associated that users do not access. These reports take up valuable system resources to run daily, generating and storing report snapshots that are never accessed.
With the November ’23 Release, the system tracks the last accessed date for each scheduled snapshot of all owners and shared users associated with the report. If a scheduled report snapshot has not been accessed within the last 30 calendar days by any of the associated users, the system will automatically disable the schedule associated with it. This enhancement improves system performance and optimizes resource usage.
When a scheduled report is disabled due to inactivity, the Queue this report on a schedule option is turned off. When a user accesses the snapshot for a report with a schedule that has been turned off, the system automatically enables the schedule for that specific report, ensuring that the enabling and disabling of schedules is based on user interactions. Users with edit access to the report can manually set up the scheduling options again.
A report snapshot is considered accessed when any of the following occurs:
- The scheduled snapshot is downloaded
- A dashboard associated with the report is refreshed, downloaded, or chart details are viewed
A report snapshot is not considered accessed when the report is viewed in the Report Viewer or when a non-scheduled snapshot for the report is manually generated or downloaded.
To help identify auto-disabled reports, a warning sign with a notification text appears in the report designer and the snapshot pop-up on the landing page and viewer page.
Existing schedules created before the release will continue to generate snapshots for up to 48 hours, even if snapshots were not accessed for 30 calendar days.
This functionality is automatically enabled for all organizations.