Remove Self-Requested Training

Prior to this enhancement, if a learner requested a training item and it was added to their transcript, it was not possible for the learner to remove that training item from their transcript themselves. It was also not possible for managers to remove training they had assigned to their employees from their employees' transcripts. The intervention of an administrator was needed to remove the training from the user's transcript.

With this enhancement, learners can remove training items they self-requested from their transcripts using a new Remove option available on the Transcript page. Also with this enhancement, managers can be granted the ability to remove training they assigned to their employees from their employees' transcripts. These abilities are permission-based.

FAQ

Q: How does this functionality differ from the existing Remove Training permission?

A: The Remove Training permission is an administrator permission that is typically only assigned to administrators, while the new Remove Training - Self Requested permission is an end user permission. End users who are granted the Remove Training - Self Requested permission are able to remove self-requested training items from their own transcript without administrator intervention.

Q: What is self-requested training?

A: Self-requested training is training that the learner requested themselves. It is NOT training that was assigned to them by a manager, administrator, or via a learning assignment or other tool.

Q: Can training with a due date be removed?

A: Yes, training with a due date can be removed.

Q: Does this feature give learners access to the Removed tab of their own transcripts?

A: No, only administrators will continue to have access to the Removed tab of users' transcripts.

Q: Can users remove training from their transcript via other system locations, such as Learner Home?

A: No, users can remove training from their transcript via the Transcript page only.

Q: Can any emails be triggered by training self-removal?

A: No, there are no emails triggered when a user removes self-requested training from their own transcript.

Considerations

The following considerations apply to this functionality:

Training Type Considerations

The following training types are supported for self-removal:

  • Curricula
  • Events and sessions
  • External content
  • External training
  • Libraries
  • Materials
  • Online classes
  • Online content
  • Quick courses
  • Tests
  • Videos

The following training types are NOT currently supported for self-removal:

  • Assessments
  • Certifications
  • Programs and cohorts

Note: It is NOT possible for administrators to modify which training types are eligible for self-removal.

Training Status Considerations

Training must be in the following training statuses in order for users to remove it from their transcripts:

  • All statuses within the Not Started category
  • All statuses within the In Progress category

Training in the following training statuses CANNOT be removed from the transcript by an end user:

  • All statuses within the Completed and Completed Equivalent category (i.e. Equivalent, Exempt, Expired, Discontinued, Not Activated, etc)

Note: It is NOT possible for administrators to modify which training statuses are eligible for self-removal.

For more information about which training statuses are included in each category: See Transcript Status Groups for Reporting.

Implementation

This functionality is enabled by default in all portals using the Learning module, but users must be assigned the relevant new permission in order to have the ability to remove self-requested training from their transcripts.

Permissions

The following new permission applies to this functionality:

PERMISSION NAME PERMISSION DESCRIPTION CATEGORY
Remove Training - Self Requested

Grants learners the ability to remove training that they have requested themselves from their active transcript and move it to the Removed tab of their transcript. This is an end user permission. This permission can be constrained by the following criteria:

  • User's Direct Subordinates
  • Direct Reports
  • User's Self
  • Employee Relationship
  • User's Subordinates
  • User Self and Subordinates
  • User's Defined OUs
Learning

The following existing permissions apply to this functionality:

PERMISSION NAME PERMISSION DESCRIPTION CATEGORY
Bio About - View

Enables user to view the Bio page for users within their permission constraints. This permission must be enabled to view the Transcript page within Universal Profile. If a user does not have this permission and they click a person's name or user photo within the Universal Profile, then the Bio page will not open.

On the Learner Home page, this permission also allows end users to view the Completions & Hours field, the training sidebar, and the Continue Learning carousel.

This permission can be constrained by Employee Relationship, OU, User's OU, User's Direct Reports, User Self and Subordinates, and User. Note: For security purposes, this permission is constrained to User Self and Subordinates by default. However, the permission constraints can be modified to allow users to view the Bio About page for other users.

Universal Profile
View Transcript Item Grants ability to view details of learning objects that appear on the transcript (training record), by clicking on the name of the learning object. Users must also have the Bio About - View permission in order to access the transcript within Universal Profile. This permission can be constrained by OU, User's OU, User Self and Subordinates, User, or User's Self. This is an end user permission. Learning - Administration