Prevent Over Assignment of Versioned Curriculum

When training is assigned to learners, the system tracks whether learners are compliant with their required training at any given time. Any additional, unintended assignment to a learner, also known as "overassignment," may prevent the learner from achieving compliance and can burden administrators with extra steps to ensure only intended users receive assignments.

This enhancement prevents the unintended overassignment of versioned materials and online courses in the following scenarios:

The material or online course was versioned, and the Assign To option is set to Users Assigned by Dynamic Assignment. Then:

  • The versioned material or online course was contained within a curriculum that was assigned to the learner in the past, but the material or online course is no longer part of that curriculum, and the learner has already completed the material or online course.
  • A child material or online course contained within multiple curricula is assigned to a learner via different assignment criteria and the learner completes both curricula. If the learner is removed from one of the assignment criteria and the child training is versioned, the learner receives both curricula even though they are not part of all the assignment criteria anymore.

Implementation

This functionality is automatically available in all portals using the Learning module and with the Oct '21 release, it can be activated via self-service on the Learning Features Activation Preferences page. This feature will be turned on by default with the Feb '22 release.

Permissions

The following existing permissions apply to this functionality:

PERMISSION NAME PERMISSION DESCRIPTION CATEGORY
Learning Features Self Activation Grants access to the Feature Activation Preferences page, where an administrator can activate new features associated with Learning, Connect and Extended Enterprise. Learning - Administration